OWL Magazine Korea

Hanbok Adorned: Explore Palaces for Free

In the central area of Seoul, including Gwanghwamun Square and City Hall, you can visit the palaces of the Joseon Dynasty, which span 500 years. The five major palaces of the Joseon Dynasty, referred to as the ‘Five Grand Palaces,’ are Gyeongbokgung, Changdeokgung, Changgyeonggung, Gyeonghuigung, and Deoksugung.

Usually, when visiting the palaces, separate admission fees are required. The individual admission fees are as follows:

“Admission fees for Seoul’s 5 major palaces”

  • Gyeongbokgung: 3,000 KRW
  • Changdeokgung: 3,000 KRW (Additional fee for Huwon Garden tour: 5,000 KRW)
  • Changgyeonggung: 1,000 KRW
  • Deoksugung: 1,000 KRW
  • Gyeonghuigung: Free

Among Seoul’s 5 major palaces, Gyeonghuigung is the only one where admission is free. This is likely because about 90% of Gyeonghuigung has been lost, and it has not been properly restored.

“When wearing Hanbok, free admission to the 5 major palaces”

When wearing Hanbok, you can enter any of the five major palaces of the Joseon Dynasty for free. Thanks to this, you can often encounter tourists wearing Hanbok around palaces like Gyeongbokgung and Changdeokgung.

Hanbok can be rented from Hanbok rental shops near the palaces, and the cost varies by type of Hanbok, rental duration, and optional extras. The cost is approximately 15,000 KRW to 25,000 KRW.

“About Seoul’s 5 major palaces…”

We have already introduced the 5 major palaces of Seoul on our website. If you are curious about palace photos or details, you can use the links below.

Although they are all palaces of the Joseon Dynasty, there are differences in their usage, purpose, roles, and eras, allowing you to experience a different atmosphere at each palace.

  1. Gyeongbokgung: Seoul, One of Joseon Dynasty’s Main Palace: Gyeongbokgung
  2. Changdeokgung: “Changdeokgung Palace,” the Palace. Loved by the King in Seoul
  3. Changgyeonggung: “Seoul, Changgyeonggung Palace, the Palace of the abdicated King”
  4. Gyeonghuigung: Seoul, the Palace of Innovation: Gyeonghuigung Palace
  5. Deoksugung: Seoul, Imperial Palace of the Korean Empire, Deoksugung Palace